How I Spent My Last Day in Singapore with a City Tour

September marks the start of the fall season. It’s also the time of traveling for me – and for the last eight years I’ve been flying abroad, I embarked on the longest flight I’ve ever been in.

As the regional international head of operations of our advertising agency, it is part of my job to travel overseas to preside over the rolling out of new training programs in our satellite offices in several Southeast Asian destinations.

For this year, it was Singapore.

It wasn’t my first time in this fascinating country. Back in 2016, I first set foot in Singapore and my only regret is that I didn’t have the luxury of time to tour around the metropolis. So, to make up for the missed opportunity, I booked a round trip ticket with the return date two days later after my last appointment. It will give me one whole day to discover the country’s culture, nature and modernity, I thought to myself.

So, what to do with a day trip to Singapore?

Since the company already arranged and paid for my accommodation and airfares, the only thing I will have to worry about is my itinerary for a day of leisure in Singapore. To be honest, I never thought of anything fancy, just as long as I get to explore the most famous destinations in the city and create as many memories as I can in a day.

In the midst of my research and planning, my friend who’s recently been in the country advised me to just book a Singapore city tour package instead. He then recommended me Resource Travel, a travel agency in Singapore, whom he said arranged his family’s walking tours.

Because I really have no idea which travel agency to hire, I accepted his offer. I booked a private full-day overview tour of Singapore which set me back for S$590 (US$809). It was quite on the pricier side, but I could have saved more if I have a companion with me.

I arrived in Singapore on a Tuesday morning of September 11 and have just survived 21 hours of travel from New York to Singapore. I went through the first three days jumping from one meeting to another, one seminar to another.

I’ve never anticipated the days to pass by my entire life as much as I did at that point until finally, it was over. I concluded my day having dinner with our long-time client and a sip or two of wine.

It was September 14 and the first thing I noticed while waiting for the private vehicle that will pick me up outside my hotel was the extreme humidity.  It was a relief to finally get on the car and by 9 am, I am already driving around the Civic District, driving around museums, protected parks and memorial spaces within it. We also passed by the Padang, the famous open playing field; the historic Parliament House as well as the National Gallery.

But, what really impressed me is the Merlion Park and the breathtaking views of Marina Bay. I didn’t pass the chance to take as much photos of the merlion which symbolizes the tourism in Singapore.

Then, I went on to wander around the streets of Chinatown to see, first-hand, the well-preserved shop houses before moving on to Little India. I bought a batch of incense sticks and some souvenirs to bring home.

We made a stop at Kampong Glam, a well-known destination with its bazaars and market before proceeding to the Singapore Botanic Gardens, the country’s first UNESCO world heritage site. Finally, I concluded the day with a visit to Marina Bay Sands. I spent the last hour at the Marina Skating Rink, before going for dinner at the food court.

After a day of activities, I was finally transferred back to my hotel, ready for my flight the next day. I knew to myself that a day tour in the city wouldn’t even scratch its surface. But, really, just a small portion of Singapore has already blown me away.

Leave a comment